top of page

Our Experience at World Youth Day, Poland 2016

Introduction:

Raz, Dwa, Trzy, Cztery… Tak Tak Panie you know that I love you, Oui seigneur tu sais que je t’aimes, Si Signor tu sabes te quiero, Yes my Lord you know….it’s true! I feel inspired to check out the lyrics of this lively hymn but to also go beyond that to explore what my response would be, as sinner like Zacheus, if Jesus said to me, ‘I am coming to your house today’?

Amidst this uplifting signature tune sang by at least a million young people in Polish, French, Spanish, Italian and English accompanied by a Polish jig, there were many opportunities and experiences. It is difficult to put down into words the particular ‘mountain-top’ experiences for me during WYD. I write this in response to the ‘un-numbered blessings that give my spirit voice’!

Logistics: Going to WYD itself began with a little tension in our home as David and I were unsure as to whether to make such a big car journey as our girls were well beneath the official recommended age (14, 12, and 7). This for me like many family plans became a prayer request so I asked my priest ‘son’, spiritual director dear sister Monica(FMDM) and my holy Polish sister-friend Magda, to pray that we could discern God’s will for our annual family retreat.

The decision came very quickly thanks to the triple direct lines to heaven and we were packed and lead to Kraków via one night stay in Dortmund which was most needed. Electronic devices were stripped to a bare minimum as David’s impeccable planning meant being armed with 15hours of the Chronicles of Narnia, a BBC recording of the life of Julian of Norwich amidst the Life of Dolphins and our music (praise and worship) and their music (Justin Bieber/Now that’s what I call Music 94 Album-clean version). I had also packed fruit, cheese and nibbles to keep us all alive and alert. Apart from one sick passenger before Calais we all had a lovely 2-day drive, with a roof box full of sleeping bags, pillows etc!

HOLY Spirit Road trip 2016:

We personalised our WYD bags and I inscribed he following words on mine ‘Holy Spirit road trip 2016’ and ‘Smile, Jesus Loves you’! We were amongst one of the smallest groups (family of 5) vis a vis the 1000 plus strong Italian youths, the masses of Poles, the French, some happy Africans from Zimbabwe and the vibrant Latin Americans who just rocked the house, not to mention U S A who tried to out-shout the Mediterranean’s with no luck! Many hours of walking with our competent driver, daddy, husband, group leader with his Iphone was not enough to get us to our destinations. Humility lead us to stop and ask the Poles who were always gracious and kind even if they apologised their level of English was insufficient.The Holy Spirit sent angels at various points (Polish Barbara who directed us to a ‘hidden’ bus stop), the 2 French boys who walked about an hour with us to take us to the Night Vigil , Police men etc. There were many physical concrete signs of being lead that warmed my heart and reminded us all that technology and super Iphones have their place but certainly not the last word! We picked sessions we wanted to attend but all ended up in the Adoration chapel which was very moving! Fancy bumping into friends amidst the crowds of over a million… the Holy Spirit has His way amidst our plans if we let Him in I think!

Liturgy:

Much as we had uplifting music that made us dance for joy, there were many opportunities for silence and ample Latin in the house. Happy, animated, young and pretty nuns, beautiful young priests of different shades, colours and sizes added to the mountain top experience for me. Singing Kyrie Eleison, Pater Noster, Agnus Dei, Dominus Vobiscum….took me right back to my catholic boarding school in Ghana. One would have thought contemporary young Catholics were unfamiliar with Latin but many joined in. I suspect there is a beauty about mystery. A depth about not quite ‘understanding’ what we are singing. These experiences were a blessing of much hope for a catholic mum raising girls in a catholic school and has inspired me to perhaps mention this to our RE department in Oaklands and our choir teacher in St Thomas More. There was such an abundance of talents on display too many to mention. The nun in pale blue habit who made ART scenes with sand, during Friday Stations of the Cross with Papa Francesco was remarkable and impressive. WYD catechesis sessions were not possible for us as we were never in bed before midnite, thanks to concerts and thus hardly up before 9am. However, the few afternoon sessions I managed to attend were thought-provoking. Jason Evert’s session on Chastity, the 5 love languages of JPII, Father Barron’s homily at the Adoration session in the Arena, Matt Maher(singer-night festival), Maltese Father Gabriel Galleia, Armless talented singer/foot- guitarist Antony Menendez were some of the many treats we were blessed with.

Conclusion:

I left Kraków blessed by the experience and wondering what I was carrying back with me:3 things. Firstly, the Catholic church regardless of our personal experience is ALIVE and our spiritually hungry youth can be fed if we lead them! Secondly, we may be like the young person who gave a testimony after being tearful and not wanting to leave WYD in Madrid. Going to confession to confess his fear and perhaps lack of trust he received wise counsel. The priest said, ‘go and don’t be afraid. Clasp your hand close to your mouth and blow hard…always remember that God is closer to you than that breadth’. Thirdly, participating in the sacraments : Confession/ Eucharist IS key. This is what makes us merciful to our own selves and merciful to others. As Bishop Barron said, forgiveness is hard work and our faith in Christ is not some private mission but a call to transform the world by relying on the Divine Mercy . Going forth, I ask myself, if like Zacheus, Jesus said, I am coming to your home today my reaction would be the all time Krakowian WYD favourite Błogosławieni…Be Merciful! May Abba Ojcze, remain always with us as we sing Raz Dwa, Trzy, Cztery -Tak Tak Panie you know that I love you!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page